9/14/2005 ↓

207.net

Author: Mark Ghosh Category: General

Thanks for visiting! If you're new here, you may want to subscribe to our RSS feed. This blog posts regular Wordpress news, updates of themes, plugins, ideas, hacks, quick fixes and everything about blogging, especially about Wordpress. Go ahead, subscribe to our feed! You can also receive updates from this blog via email.

What in the world is 2o7.net and why is it slowing down my web browsing considerably for the past few weeks??

After doing some research, I find that 2o7.net is actually Omniture and many of the sites that are slow to load are running some kind of web analytics software called SiteCatalyst from Omniture. Now I find that the Omniture nameservers do not want to resolve 2o7.net or 207.net as long as the request comes from the x.x.x.x subnet (my ISPs class B) Grrrrrr.

Why would a web company looking to analyze visitors block a whole class B from their DNS servers??

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading ... Loading ...
Sphere: Related Content | stumbleit |

Visitors who read this post, also read:

Related posts from the past

    No results.

Translate

Translate to German Translate to Spanish Translate to French Translate to Italian Translate to Portuguese Translate to Japanese Translate to Korean Translate to Russian Translate to Chinese

Latest Videos

Latest WordPress Jobs

8 Comments | Leave a comment | Comments RSS

  1. I’ve often seen 2o7.net when I’ve been sniffing web traffic (both at home and work) for whatever reason. I never paid much attention to it, since it’s never caused any kind of problem for me. Out of curiosity, what’s your ISP, and whom did they piss off? Sounds like they did something (or didn’t do something?) and got on the bad side of the wrong sys admin… :)

    Chris Meller (10 comments.) — 09/14/2005 @ 7:31 pm
  2. Yeah, I’ve got 2o7.net adblocked in Firefox.

    ceejayoz (3 comments.) — 09/14/2005 @ 8:40 pm
  3. Actually, neither did my ISP piss off anyone, nor did they do anything wrong (I know, I am a programmer for them). We recently received a new class B from ARIN and this new class B seems to be the problem.
    Mark (118 comments.) — 09/15/2005 @ 8:27 am
  4. Welp, if you work for them, it looks like it’s time to call these guys up and talk to them. I’m sure you’re not the only one having these problems, just probably one of the few that knows enough to figure out what’s causing them.

    Chris Meller (10 comments.) — 09/15/2005 @ 9:52 am
  5. test comment
    Mark (118 comments.) — 10/26/2005 @ 2:39 pm
  6. Everytime I run a spyware scan, this comes up. Its really frustrating, is there anything I can do? My ISP is msn. Thanks!

    KAREN P WILSON — 03/27/2006 @ 2:14 am
  7. Hi Mark # 3. Please tell me how I may remove 2o7.net if you can.

    nick — 05/14/2006 @ 1:18 am
  8. Class C network also will not resolve 2o7.net nameservers

    Sam — 09/8/2007 @ 2:01 pm

Leave a comment

Line and paragraph breaks automatic, e-mail address never displayed, HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

(required)

(required, will not be published)


S2